Friday, March 18, 2016

Sheriff McCallum Honors Retiree and Member Awards

Lieutenant Perry Ott

Investigator Robert Bowers

Telecommunicator Sarah Moore

Corrections Officer Betty Watson

Administrative Employee Patty Galyean

March 18, 2016

On March 15, 2016 the Levy County Sheriff’s Office held their semi-annual staff meeting. During this meeting Sheriff McCallum honored recent retiree Lieutenant Perry Ott. Lt. Ott served the citizens of Levy County and became a member of the LCSO family in 1988. Lt. Ott began his career with LCSO in the Jail and transferred to the Patrol Division in November of 1989. He served in our Patrol Division and advanced through the ranks being promoted to Lieutenant in February of 2012.  His responsibilities include Watch Commander of the Alpha shift and as a Field Training Officer he is responsible for training and supervising the majority of our current Patrol Deputies. Lt. Ott joins his wife Linda in retirement and is looking forward to traveling the country and riding his motorcycle. His “can do” attitude and positive influence will truly be missed.  

Sheriff McCallum recognized and conducted the official swearing in of our newest members. Samantha Gilliard (Telecommunicator), Heather Lindsey (Telecommunicator), Raquel Alfonso (Victim Advocate), Paula Kennedy (Human Resource Director), Gloria Kilian (Professional Standards Assistant), Gary Garboski (Patrol Division), Amanda Lugo (Detention Bureau), Tonya Gainey (Detention Bureau) and Lee Dunn (Fleet Manager) took their Oath of Office and were welcomed into the LCSO family.

Sheriff McCallum recognized recent promotions and transfers and also congratulated Sergeant Joey Gore (Detention Bureau), Sergeant Anne Stacey (Detention Bureau) and Corporal Mayra Carroll (Detention Bureau) for their continued exceptional service. Lt. Jimmy Anderson is now assigned the responsibility of supervision of both the Alpha and Bravo Patrol units. Lt. Duane Dykstra is now assigned the responsibility of supervision of the Drug Task Force and Criminal Investigations Division. Lt. Scott Tummond is now assigned the responsibility of supervision of the Professional Standards Division. 

Five Lifesaving awards were presented by Sheriff McCallum. He honored the fast action of Detention Bureau members Nurse Jinean English, Sergeant Joey Gore, Corporal Mayra Carroll and Officer Hubert Capps in their successful efforts which saved the life of a detainee. Additionally, Sheriff McCallum honored Telecommunicator Ashley Dean after successfully instructing a citizen in proper CPR techniques which saved the life of a citizen in distress. Sheriff McCallum honored Telecommuicator Supervisor Nicki Burbach-Knight with the Sheriff’s Award as she was able to calmly and clearly give a father instruction which allowed him to successfully deliver his child.

Sheriff McCallum concluded the meeting by honoring the LCSO member selected as Employees of the Year. This award exemplifies the hard work and dedication of the member who exceeds expectations going above and beyond their regularly assigned duties. Investigator Robert Bowers was awarded the Law Enforcement Officer of the Year award. Telecommunicator Sarah Moore was awarded the Officer of the Year award for the Communications Division. Corrections Officer Betty Watson was awarded the Detention Bureau Officer of the Year award. Civilian Employee Patty Galyean was awarded the Administration Division Employee of the Year award. 

Lt. Scott Tummond
Public Information
Levy County Sheriff's Office
(352) 486-5111
"Know Something We Don't" Call Crime Stoppers 1-877-349-8477 remain anonymous.